July 20 to September 6, 2021
Tuesday - Sunday 11am - 4pm
Fall hours of operation to be decided.
Off-season by appointment
Per Person $5
Some events have gate admission, fees, or ticket pricing.
Come visit our on-site mercantile for gifts and keepsakes like:
- Historic Toys
- Historic Candy
- Greeting Cards
... and more!
Click the button below to purchase books online!
A Brief History
The Backus-Page House Museum is located within the grounds of the John E. Pearce Provincial Park, within a restored Georgian style house which was constructed in 1850.
It is one of the first brick homes built in what would eventually become Dunwich Township, now the Municipality of Dutton Dunwich.
The house was commissioned by Andrew and Mary Jane (Hamilton) Backus. The Backus family was one of several families that had obtained land from Colonel Thomas Talbot and settled in the area which quickly came to be known as Little Ireland (a namesake due to the Irish ancestry of the settlers).
The property that Andrew built his house on was given to him by his grandmother, Mary Storey, who received her original land grant in 1809.
The Backus-Page House and property was obtained by Jonas Page in 1925. Members of the Page family resided on the estate and farmed the property for over 40 years. Morley and Grace Page were the last of the Pages to live on the farm and they sold it to the Ministry of Natural Resources in 1968.
Ontario Parks currently retains ownership and has entered into a lease agreement with the Tyrconnell Heritage Society.
Wetland “Storey” Trail
Backus-Page House Attractions
Coming in 2021!
The Agricultural Centre will house exhibits showcasing the rural and farming history of western Elgin County for our visitors. Funded by the estates of George Kimble and Theresa Cutler McPhee, Government of Canada, and community donations.